The absence of an element

I can remember screaming and crying when I was 3 years old from the backseat of the car when my mom threw my thoroughly chewed on piece of gum out the window.  My sister screamed and cried with me, “Noooooo!”  My mom asked us, “well what did you want me to do with it?”  “Save it!!” we cried “maybe we could make something out of it!!”

I have no air in my chart.  My twin sister (obviously) doesn’t either.  We have a hard time detaching.

Even though now I can luckily throw out a piece of gum with no problem, I have to regularly remind myself to take a step back from situations that I get too emotionally invested in and try to view it in an objective manner.  Without detachment we can get a sense of drowning (water) or feeling stuck (earth) or burned out (fire).  Air swoops in to remind us that there is a big world, and maybe things don’t matter as much as we think they do.  Air can flip our perspective like the toss of a coin.  Air gets us to lighten up.  Air gets us outside of ourselves (yang polarity).

PICT0226

Oxygen intake to clear the mind.

I am amazed at how different my mind frame becomes after a jog.  Even just 15 minutes of deep breathing can bring me that lightness of mind that lasts for the whole day.  Same goes for 15 minutes of deep relaxing breathing like with yoga or meditation.

My dad has no earth in his chart.  When he was 16 he went to a summer camp where he didn’t wear shoes for 2 months.  He felt so liberated that to this day he stays barefoot whenever he can get away with it.  “I hate shoes!” he says as he throws them off his feet.

When an element does not present itself in a horoscope (i.e. not found in the Sun, Moon, inner planets, Jupiter and Saturn) we must try to find it outside ourselves for optimum inner balance.  We need to supplement ourselves, both in a literal visceral sense and also a psychological sense.  For some of us, it can truly feel like coming home to ourselves.

For example, if you have no water (again don’t count Uranus, Neptune, Pluto or the angles) you may need to take some time by a river or lake.  Maybe indulge in a bath, or when it rains make a point to stare out from your window.  You may need to pay more attention to softening and attempting to empathize with others and their feelings.

Unknown-1

Audrey Hepburn’s ethereal emotiveness is impossible to miss. Pisces Moon in the 1st. Listening to “Moon River” on a rainy night puts us in the realm of water.

No fire?  You may need to sunbathe, or light some candles.  Physical activity can bring about the fire element and bring forth much needed motivation that spills into other areas of life.  Fire reminds us of what is exciting.  Take in some drama, like a movie or a play, or a rock concert to get the blood dancing.

images

Bruce Lee embodies fire with his Saggitarius Sun on the Ascendant. Seeing an action movie kickstarts the fire within us all.

I would love to hear about your own experiences of perceiving a lack of an element in your own chart or in someone’s you know.

Leave a Reply

